A while back I wrote a blog about Vermicomposting for Rule Breakers.  Here’s a video of what that bed looks like and how easy feeding the worms is. This is my second attempt at a video.  It’s no Hollywood Blockbuster since the first half is just basically a static view of my worm bed with me talking from behind the camera.  And you get to see some awkward shots of my knees and elbows as I load the bin.  I’ll work on camera positioning in future videos.

But I think you’ll still get the idea of how the worm bed works which is the main reason I am posting this.  And for those who know the value of worm castings in the garden, I also wanted to show off my eight gallons of gorgeous garden food that went into my beds for my second round/winter storage potato planting and to encourage others to consider using mega-worm beds too!

Just a couple of notes for anyone who may want to do this at home…

  • Before you to out and build your bed, get more details on in my posting on  Vermicomposting for Rule Breakers.
  • My worm bed is dug into a hillside so we get some thermal benefits – cool in summer, warm in winter – from that ground contact.  I also keep the beds mulched to help control for temperature extremes.  But if you aren’t able to put your bed below ground level, then you might need to consider other alternatives like a shady location in summer or surrounding your bed with straw bales in winter.
  • My lid is not waterproof and thanks to the bed being in contact with the ground and being downslope on two sides, whenever it rains, it gets watered a bit (though never flooded).  So far this year, I haven’t had to water the beds, except when feeding. But if you live in a warmer, drier area, you may have to think a lot more about watering.
  • When I apply thicker layers of worm compost to my garden beds, I usually wait a day or two before planting seeds.  As you can see in the video, in addition to worms, I get other decomposers in an outdoor bed, e.g. pill bugs.  Pillbugs and other soil decomposers prefer dead or drying stuff to live plants, so they don’t tend to interfere with anything I’ve got growing.  But they have been known to eat unsprouted seeds. Since I lay a lot of chop and drop mulch around in my garden beds, if I put out my worm castings and wait a day or two, the remaining worms and pillbugs move over to areas with better food sources.  Then I can plant my seeds without worrying.

I think that’s about it on worm beds for now. But, we’ve got lots going on around the reLuxe Ranch, so stay tuned for more posts coming soon!

 

 

