Ever had that experience that just when you think you have it all figured out…you find out your clueless.

We’ll that’s me and irrigation.  I had done a bunch of calculations and figured out how to use soaker hoses as our irrigation method because I don’t want to water my plants, I want to water my soil. The plants will grow roots as needed and take what they want as long as we put the water close enough.  But all our beneficial fungi, bacteria, wormy friends, etc., well they really need us to keep the soil nice and cushy for them.  They are like itty bitty livestock and as such, they deserve to be watered with the same regularity we apply to our other animals.

Anyhow, I had all the psi stuff figured out even though I want to water from two ponds and skip a cistern.  And it all looked good to me.  Then Jess Stryker, from that website I mentioned yesterday, http://www.irrigationtutorials.com/, sounded in.  Soaker hoses are clog factories when paired with pond water.  Even with a stellar filter, stuff will get through and I’ll spend more time flushing my soaker hoses than I would have spent hand watering my garden.  Not to mention they’ll wear out faster and cost more.

So, back to the drawing board.  With drip emitter hoses now on radar, I have to do my calculations again for 12″ and 18″ spacing on 1/2″ hose to see what’s possible.  And there are like a million kinds of hoses and emitters which all have their own benefits and challenges.

Maybe John Jeavons’ is right about hand watering twice daily…there’s a lot more to this irrigation stuff than I ever imagined.

Really though, it’s a big expense and something I’d like to know how to do well. So, more math calculations aside, I’m glad for people who know more than I do saving me from myself!

 

 

 

 

